Procrastination

 Image

I am a compulsive clicker. Seriously, this is getting out of hand. I click links on Facebook, Twitter, my uni website, everywhere. Every morning I start my day with at least five tabs open. It takes an hour to catch up with those alone. Sometimes I go looking for interesting pictures or posters and spend hours saving the good ones. Today someone posted a psychology website about procrastination. I clicked it. It turned out to be a collection of blogs about causes of and prevention of procrastination. Naturally I had to click all of them and many linked to other things as well. It was death by irony! I only stopped reading when I realized I had been at it for more than four hours. I closed all the tabs and I am going to bed. I’ll get some real work done tomorrow!

 

Tomorrow:

 

The situation caused me to think: we are constantly surrounded by technology, noise, and distraction. How do we find balance in our lives? Today I did a search on ‘Silence’. I found that the internet has mixed opinions on the subject. Some people believe silence to be a good thing. ‘Silence is golden’, it comes from within. The motivational posters about silence didn’t say much. On the other hand, some people believe silence is a bad thing. Silence is the absence of dialogue about the things we should be talking about: child abuse, rape, prostitution, suicide, bullying.

 

I think the real dichotomy is linguistic. A person can be silent (at peace, thoughtful, listening). Or a person can be silenced (from the outside). I have experienced both types of silence. The latter begins in frustration and ends in defeat. But the former can be a beautiful thing. The tone of the bell that begins a minute of silence is the most peaceful sound in the world to me. The opportunity to be silent and listen to the world wakens feelings of love and tenderness.

 

What I need is an opportunity to unplug every day – to embrace the silence and listen, away from the mental noise of my internet connections and my own racing mind.

 

Update: Someone tweeted this wonderful piece by @bonstewart on how our social networking can float us away.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

