Laughing It Up

I want to make a special thanks to @ShellTerrell for the idea of a laughing diary and to all the people who were part of these laughs with me.

I promised to make a laughing diary of all the things that made me laugh out loud during these seven days, and that’s how this started out. However, there are laughs that just can’t be shared. They only make sense in context…. Or they seemed funny at the time…. Or it’s funny because of who I am, not because of what it is. Anyway, here it is and I hope you enjoy it!ย 

 

 

Thursday: These are the things that made me laugh today:

 

1. A picture on Instagram ofย  all the things the person who posted would be reading if it were not for Instagram.

 

2. A picture of a plastic jockey riding a plastic horse.

 

3. A story: my brother’s professor required papers to be sent by snail-mail to her home address with a self-addressed stamped envelope included.She wrote feedback by hand. (That totally one-upped my 4cm margin story!)

 

 

4. Embarrassing old pictures like this:ย (Hint: one of those is me!)

 

and this: (One of those is me, too!)

 


5. A conversation with my mom led to the laughter of pure joy.

 


6. Stumbling down a mountain in the dark. “There’s another something here! Oops. A two-something.” We created meaning as we went.

 

Friday:

It’s lovely to start the morning off laughing.


This picture that appeared on Facebook made me laugh today: I once saw a squirrel sitting on a Buddha’s lap eating up the rice cake offerings people had left. This reminded me of that squirrel.

 

Dianetics keeps resurfacing. Enter at your own risk.

 

A final laugh for Friday: dancing in front of the mirror while trying on clothes that I’d never wear in public.

 

Saturday:

 


Garfield Street Art in Seoul:

 


The man across from me on the bus is shaving.

 

I really wish I’d got a picture of this: there was an old man driving a bright red go-kart down a country road.

 

Sunday:

 


Reflective Practice workshop with Dr Thomas Farrell. I don’t even know where to begin. You had to be there.

 

Post- RP unprofessional development with chicken, beer, and reflection in action. You had to be there, too.

 

 

Post-Post-RP unprofessional development with @JosetteLB – and a strange and amazing nightclub where the band performed in their undies. You probably didn’t have to be there, but we were!

 

Monday:

 

On my way to the bus stop, I saw a little old lady (maybe in her 70s) walk up behind a man in a business suit, pinch his butt, and run away. I’m still laughing over that one!

 

This website made me laugh twice: 20 Most Ridiculous Zoo Signs shared by @JohnPfordresher

 

This website is proof (says @SophiaKahn4) that we all live in Middle Earth shared by @EditorJamieC . I’m from “Stink Onion”.

A conversation with a very tongue-in-cheek young Sarah today – best quote: “Writing reading thinking – Yay!” #sarcasm

Finally, as midnight approaches, I’d like to share this YouTube video called: I’ll teach you how to levitate.

 

Tuesday:

 

Starting the morning off laughing, thanks to @SophiaKahn4 “ah u must be a hobbit, probably Sam. I myself am from Maiden’s Stone, clearly 1 of the fair folk ๐Ÿ™‚ ” #stinkonion

 

The birth of the #TESOLgeek hashtag. Go check it out.

 

My best friend’s (@HebrewH) status update on Facebook:

 


“Beatboxing in class

Kid:teacher do you know <Random Korean name>
Me: Nope. Do you know My Grandma Marie?
Kid:Nope.
Me: Do you know Eminem? Dr Dre? Jay-Z?
Kid: Jaeshi?
Me: yeah dude. MC Retest.
Kid: teacher, really?

Thank You Korea….”

 

This song and video (warning: it’s very catchy) –

 

Wednesday:

 

Most of the day gone and not a thing to laugh about until @Twinrovaa saved the day with this tumblr page. Ah, the ELT life.

 

And that would have been it (a very quiet day as paper deadlines loom) if Sarah hadn’t added some more joy:

“If I am a sandwich, I’m made with bacon, ham, pickle and cabbage, lettuce, bell pepper, ketchup, mustard because I always eat sandwich like this. On my birthday, many people go to a sandwich festival and the lunch and dinner menu is sandwich and there is a sandwich design project.”

“Sarah, they’re going to eat you.”

“Yeah! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’ll feel great because everybody likes me.”


Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Josette  On May 24, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Wow. Dianetics. That was quite a laugh! Thank you. ๐Ÿ˜› Where did you find that gem?

    • livinglearning  On May 25, 2012 at 1:42 am

      Ah, the magic of Twitter. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank YOU for being part of a week of laughs.

Leave a Reply

