Tag – you’re it!

Tag! You’re It! 

Photo by Savihav taken from http://savihav.deviantart.com/art/Tag-You-re-It-173872419 used under CC license.

Photo by Savihav taken from http://savihav.deviantart.com/art/Tag-You-re-It-173872419 used under CC license.

I’ve been reading and tweeting a lot of these tagged posts because I love finding out random things about members of my PLN. Recently I was tagged by Vicky Loras, who is one of the most active, kind, supportive and thoughtful people I’ve ever met. I’m delighted to be tagged and for the chance to tag 11 more and learn more about the people who are a part of my digital life.

The rules: 

If you are tagged, here’s what you have to do:

  • Acknowledge the nominating blogger.
  • Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger asked you.
  • Nominate 11 more bloggers
  • Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer, and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated. Don’t nominate a blogger who has nominated you.

11 things about me:

  1. My favorite thing to bake is apple cinnamon muffins.
  2. I don’t eat most sweets or snacks.
  3. This fall I rode my bike across Korea and got a medal for completing the trek.
  4. I don’t own a TV or watch TV programs on my computer.
  5. I’d rather swim in the ocean or a lake than a swimming pool.
  6. BEARS! Bear Down!
  7. I’m afraid of all things without their own face (including clowns and people dressed up as giant stuffed creatures).
  8. I have been accused of being a reflective practice junkie.
  9. My apartment doesn’t have a bed or chairs, and I like it that way.
  10. With a few exceptions, I hate talking on the phone.
  11. I love tweet-ups and meeting my PLN in person.

Vicky’s questions for me:

1. If you were not an educator, what line of work would you imagine yourself in?
I used to dream of running a dessert cafe on the hills of San Francisco. A sort of coffee shop/ library type place. Now I’d probably choose another country, but back then SF was the most beautiful city I’d ever seen.

2. Which person in ELT would you like to meet in person and why?
I can’t choose just one and I have been privileged in already having met a lot of ELT people. A couple more I’d love to meet are Tony Gurr (and Dexter) and Chuck Sandy. I am sure I’d learn a lot from those guys. 

3. What new activity / hobby would you like to start?
I’d love to learn a new language and alphabet. Maybe Russian or Japanese.

4. Which is the best book you have recently read? Why?
I think every book has something to recommend it. I’m currently reading a work of fiction called “Fortuna’s Bastard.” I like it because the author really got into the minds of the characters and because of its attitude towards the unexplainable.

5. If you could change one thing in the world, what would that be?
I’d make tolerance and acceptance a part of all education systems, normalising rather than hiding the things people think of as “different”.

6. Which is the nicest destination you have visited so far and why?
I think the most beautiful place I’ve visited is Sapa in northern Vietnam. The terraces hills rise as far as the eye can see. I could have spent a lot more time there.

7. If you decided to write a book, what would it be about?
If I decided to write a book it would be full of fictional short stories about everyday objects. 

8. What is your favourite song this period?
I don’t really have a favorite song. But I like listening to birds and crickets and the sound of rain falling.

9. What is your favourite and least favourite food?
My favorite food is pizza. And I think my least favorite food is also pizza. Because there’s pizza and there’s pizza, see. 😉

10. Which is the next conference you plan to attend?
I guess that’s the KOTESOL National Conference in Korea in May 2014.

11. With whom from the PLN was your first meeting in person? What was it like?
My first PLN in-person meeting (outside of Korea) was with Vicky. It was really exciting to visit her in beautiful Zug, get the grand tour, have coffee together, and learn more about someone I really respect and admire. 

I’ve tried not to tag anyone who’s already been tagged by someone else… Anyway: You’re next…. the following 11 bloggers have been tagged! 

@bryanteacher
@avafruin
@tonygurr
@breathyvowel
@swisssirja
@annloseva
@LjiljanaHavran
@jo_cummins
@Ratnavathy
@JohnPfordresher
@muranava

And here are your questions (if you have the time to take up the challenge).

1. What was your very first job?
2. What is your most valuable possession?
3. Where do you want to go to retire?
4. What is the most important thing you learned from your parents/ parental figures?
5. Mountains or Ocean?
6. Most beautiful thing you have ever seen?
7. What’s your favorite blog post you’ve written?
8. Favorite education quote?
9. Have you ever done something adventurous? Please share!
10. The correct number of hours of sleep is ______ in 24.
11. What is something you do that has absolutely no connection to TESOL?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Vicky Loras  On December 20, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    Dear Anne,

    It is great to get to know you more through this! And thanks so much for the mention and kind words. I was so happy when you told me you’d be passing through Zug and we spent some time toghether. It was awesome and hope we meet up again soon!

    • livinglearning  On December 20, 2013 at 10:58 pm

      Likewise, Vicky! Thanks for your support and kindness always. I love this tag challenge because it helps us get to know each other more personally. Thanks for the opportunity and for always including me in the community. ❤ The world is small – I'm sure we'll meet again soon.

      • Vicky Loras  On December 20, 2013 at 11:35 pm

        I feel exactly the same about you too, Anne – thanks for all the sharing and reflecting you have helped me with. I will say, see you soon! x

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

