Reflective Practice Mission Statement

I have no idea what this is. However, I have been inspired by Mr. John Pfordresher and Ms. Ann Loseva to enter this conversation and so I will try. 

Wikipedia’s help:

These are the components of a mission statement:

  1. Key market – who is your target client/customer? (generalize if needed)
  2. Contribution – what product or service do you provide to that client?
  3. Distinction – what makes your product or service unique, so that the client would choose you?

These are what it should do:

  • Define what the company is
  • Be limited to exclude some ventures
  • Be broad enough to allow for creative growth
  • Distinguish the company from all others
  • Serve as framework to evaluate current activities
  • Be stated clearly so that it is understood by all

Step by step, then:

1. Who is my key market? For whom do I reflect? Well, I guess my target customer is me. My students (and friends?) might experience occasional benefits, but those are side effects.

2. What product or service do I provide? Why do I reflect? I reflect in order to increase my awareness of what is happening in my class (or in my life, as John reminded me). Life is full of emotion but I want to view each situation objectively and see what is really there. However, I don’t want to (and probably can’t) divorce myself of emotion so I want to see my heart’s realities alongside the objective realities. I want to invite others to join me in this process so that I maintain a balance.

3. What makes my product unique? I do. And so does every contribution and question and strategy offered by anyone who is interested. The combination of our efforts will produce a unique result every time. That is worth remembering – since the reflective spiral is never complete and there are always more angles (or lenses) and more questions to be asked.

Have I fulfilled the criteria? You get to decide.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • annloseva  On February 7, 2014 at 3:20 am

    My absolute favourite line here, Anne, is this:
    “What makes my product unique? I do.”

    This is such wonderful wording. And I think there’s nothing to decide on here=)) Looking forward to what comes next, or from a different angle.

    • livinglearning  On February 7, 2014 at 9:46 am

      Thanks Ann. I too am curious what will come next. And I really do believe that our practices are unique because we are. I’m glad you guys are with me on this journey. All our unique perspectives will show us a more complete picture.

  • Rose Bard  On February 7, 2014 at 4:06 am

    I have given it a try (write my mission) but haven’t posted it yet. The feeling that accompained me all along the endeavor was the fact that I did not know what the mission is or should be. I’m glad that you looked at it from a very interesting angle. I’ll post mine soon. 😀

    • livinglearning  On February 7, 2014 at 10:00 am

      Dear Rose, I’m really happy to hear that this is of help to you. I felt apprehensive about posting this the way I wrote it since it is so different from what John and Ann have done. But your response makes me glad I did. I look forward to reading yours! (We find ourselves so many small projects, don’t we? 😉 )

  • kevchanwow  On February 7, 2014 at 7:38 am

    Just brilliant Anne. I’m with Anna on this one, you do indeed make the product unique. So glad to have your blog to read and to be a member of this reflective community.

    Kevin

    • livinglearning  On February 7, 2014 at 10:13 am

      And I’m so glad you’re here. Thanks for your comments and constant support. Thanks for your new ideas and new ways to look at things. Your added perspective helps me see better.

  • haeundaelife  On February 7, 2014 at 9:41 am

    pleased as punch. stoked for the post and doubly so for the inspiration your spreading. very well done.

    • livinglearning  On February 7, 2014 at 10:20 am

      Thank you, my inspiring friend. And thank you for setting the challenge and inviting us to participate. As you keep saying, everyone has something to contribute. And it’s remembering that that helps me put my voice out here too.

  • Zhenya  On February 17, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    Anne, thank you for bringing the analytical approach to creating your RP mission statement and for the ‘holistic’ view on yourself as a teacher and person (which is a great reminder to me that it is merely impossible to separate the two, no matter how hard I might try) This also prompts me to keep reflecting on a lot more things than what I do in class. As you said ‘the reflective spiral is never complete and there are always more angles (or lenses) and more questions to be asked’. I am with you on this!

    • livinglearning  On February 18, 2014 at 1:04 am

      Zhenya, thank you for reading and for taking the time to write your thoughts. I have been thinking that my statement is not complete but in progress – or “loading” as Ann Loseva says – and I want to say it better. But at the same time, I am so grateful for the comments that help me reflect further or present new lenses. Some things that seem so clear to others were hidden from me. That’s one reason I love being part of this community. I’m glad you’re part of it too.

      • Zhenya  On February 18, 2014 at 2:17 am

        Anne, can’t agree more with this one: ‘Some things that seem so clear to others were hidden from me’. I guess the opposite is true then: something so clear to you/us might be revolutionary to others? I am starting to doubt anything that I tend to call ‘obvious’ at this point… Maybe too much thinking? Well, I would also like to revisit the statement I was making, as you said, so that I could probably notice new details and ‘touches’ on reflecting. Also, thank you for visiting my blog and leaving your thoughtful comment (thinking about a reply 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

