Happy New Year from livinglearning

As I have mentioned in the past, I celebrate my new year on March 1st every year. It’s also pretty close to the anniversary of this blog. Three years. Sometimes it seems like just a few months ago I took this turn in my life. Sometimes it seems like I’ve been doing this for thirty years. Be that as it may, it is time to take a quick look back and a glance ahead from where I stand.

Looking back

I recently had a chance to take a look at my professional life over the past few years through an application form for a Trinity Diploma.* I had never updated my CV with articles or talks, so it was really pretty stunning to me to see everything together in one place – it provided a kind of map of some of what I learned this year.

Highlights of the year: 

traveling to Japan with Michael Griffin to surprise Kevin Stein (spoiler: he is not easy to surprise). I also got to meet Chuck Sandy and quite a few other people.

Highlight of the year.

Highlight of the year.

presenting with the #KELTchat team at the Seoul K0TESOL chapter conference and the English EXPO.

Team #KELTchat. Rock on.

Team #KELTchat. Rock on.

seeing my family for the first time in three years.

Cousins for life. (Before you ask, it's a tutu.)

Cousins for life. (Before you ask, it’s a tutu.)

meeting Anna Loseva and  introducing her to my students.

making and reflecting on teaching videos for the Seoul reflective practice SIG (note to self: update website!) and attending RP meetings in three cities.

participating in several #iTDi courses, especially the summer school MOOC, and learning to be myself.

writing for the iTDi blog, becoming a mentor, and realizing I was already a mentor.

writing for ETAS.

the reflective practice blog challenge (it all began here).

my first guest post from a blogger who is also my best friend.

flirting with the world of materials development through proofreading and then writing.

helping to organize a reflective practice workshop with Tom Farrell.

fulfilling some of my own new year’s resolutions and doing a lot of biking.

*I was accepted into the program, but my boss nixed it right away because they just can’t see any way to give me time off without burning everyone else out.

Looking ahead

Welcome, 2015. My 13th year as a teacher in Korea and my 36th year of life (closer to 50 than 15 as someone kindly pointed out). I have some new goals for this year: spend time outdoors every day, give up some of my social media addiction, shop local, save money, read books, and ride my bike. I’m trying to cure myself of laziness and my tendency to be stuck to a computer screen instead of enjoying the day.

This year will see my first mini-conference type thing as an organizer. The Korea reflective practice SIG is having a ‘Day of Reflection’ this August. (Note to self: seriously. Update the website.)

This year will see a bike trip across the country (east to west). There are mountains. But I can do it.

This year I will learn a new language.

And with any luck, this year I will finally leave Korea. I know I say that every year, but this year I might really happen. I’m focusing my intention in that direction (learning a new language, saving money in another currency). I’m going to need help, but I’m going to give it my best try.

Gratitude

To my family, who I finally got to see this year after nearly three years away: thank you for making so much time for me.

To my coworkers, who work with me, reflect with me, play with me, and listen to me vent: thank you.

To my friends, who encourage me, support me, and never say a mean word: thank you.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Rose Bard  On March 1, 2015 at 2:29 am

    I wish you a new year full of excitements, adventures and much love!

  • nathanghall  On March 1, 2015 at 8:39 am

    Love the post! It is almost like having a chance to sit down and chat with you. I think the idea of a ‘Day of Reflection’ conference is brilliant and I hope you get even more out of it than you put into it.

    Thank you for encouraging me along my journey. I know you are appreciated by many and I look forward to hopefully meeting you face to face one day!

    • livinglearning  On March 1, 2015 at 9:14 am

      Thank you! I hope that one day we really do have a chance to sit down and chat. I learn a lot from you online as it is!

  • kevchanwow  On March 4, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    I can’t tell you how happy I am to have made the top of your yearly highlights. And getting to spend some time with you was at the top of my list as well. Thank you for a year of great reading, helping to make me look like a superstar at my presentation, and a thousand other little things (like the things you saw today) which helped fill my (your) year with goodness.

    Kevin

    • livinglearning  On March 4, 2015 at 11:33 pm

      I think you ARE a superstar. Thank you for the magic you add to my life, and for being a supportive friend. I’m lucky.

Leave a Reply

