when they’re just not feeling it (a thing that happened today)

Photo by Emiichann. Taken from wikicommons: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Hand_whit_I%27m_bored.jpg

Photo by Emiichann. Taken from wikicommons: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Hand_whit_I%27m_bored.jpg

It’s the midsummer heat. The air conditioner is only just keeping up.
It’s summer vacation from school. But not from academy.
It’s the last five minutes of their last class before dinner time.
It’s routine that has long since lost its novelty. 

“Repeat the reading after the cd.”
Line by line, they repeat. Their eyes getting deader and deader.
Suddenly I start to laugh. I can’t help it. They notice and look curious.
“What?”
“You guys. These are your faces. Look around.”
They grin a bit.
“Okay,” I say. “Read the next part like you’re really angry.” I put my hands on my hips and narrow my eyes to demonstrate. Some copy me.
“Okay that’s good. Now do the next one like you’re sleepy.” I put my head to the side and speak slowly. They’re getting into it.
“Nice work. Can you do the next one like you’re robots?” I snap my arms and legs together and some of them do too.
“Good. Do this one like you’re excited.” I raise my arms up. They don’t.
“Not quite. Excited has wider eyes. Say it with your eyes wide open.”
By now they’re all smiling.
“Do the last line like you’re happy.” I smile with them.
“Remember to smile!”

And it’s kind of amazing how the reading aloud (which I use to check pronunciation and intonation) turned from drudgery into tomfoolery with just a tiny change. It also helped them practice a variety of intonations and make the reading more interesting. 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Vicky Loras  On August 11, 2015 at 1:43 am

    What an awesome way to turn the lesson around! I can picture you doing it. This is a great tip. Thanks Anne!

    • livinglearning  On August 11, 2015 at 11:13 am

      Thanks for reading it, Vicky! I was lucky it worked, but I had to do something.

  • swisssirja  On August 11, 2015 at 4:00 am

    🙂 simply perfect, Anne!

  • Chewie  On August 11, 2015 at 12:43 pm

    Good for you for powering on!
    Next up: “Read like you’re Bob Dylan” and “Read like you’re Darth Vader.” Hahaha.

    • livinglearning  On August 11, 2015 at 1:55 pm

      Haha. That reminds me of a song…
      With my kids, it’ll be more like, “Read like Olaf” and “Read like your favorite video game character.”

      • Chewie  On August 12, 2015 at 1:40 am

        There you go! I should’ve done the Olaf bit when I was there. Or any of the other Frozen characters…the kids loved that movie.

Leave a Reply

